Bay State College Presidential Search

A message from Bay State College: New President Announcement

It gives us a great pleasure to announce that the search for a new president for Bay State College has been completed. We are honored to announce that Dr. Steven C. Combs joined us at Bay State College as our new president on June 15th, 2020. The Presidential Search Committee members had received and reviewed nationwide interest from more than a hundred qualified candidates. We had identified the best talent who is the right fit for our college and aligned with our Mission, Values, Visions, and Goals.

Dr. Steven Combs brings more than 35 years of experience in the higher education industry. He has been in a variety of roles, such as an Instructor, Professor, Department Chair, Vice President, and Provost in a dynamic international environment. Dr. Steven Combs earned his Bachelor of Arts at the University of Southern California with a dual degree in Political Science and Communication. He completed a Master of Arts degree in Communication Studies at the University of Kansas and earned his doctorate in Communication Arts and Sciences at the University of Southern California.

Dr. Combs most recently served as the President and CEO of the Maryland University of Integrative Health. While there, he led a significant enrollment increase and substantially improved University finances. Dr. Combs championed student-centricity, creating new financial aid opportunities, establishing a career center, and overseeing new advising and counseling services. Dr. Combs promoted significant upgrades in technology and physical spaces as well as new University planning processes. Additionally, he led the development of six new academic programs and new University strategic partnerships.

Following is a list of Presidential Search Committee members:

  • Althea Blackford, Bay State College Alumna, and Board Member
  • Thomas W. Clawson, Search Committee Chair, and Chair, Board of Trustees
  • Shasha Chang, Board Member
  • Jerome Dean, Director of Institutional Research
  • Pamela Grill, Associate Professor
  • Oscar Gutierrez, Chief Academic Officer (retired)
  • Chiao-Ling Hsu, Board Member
  • Andy Kuang, Community Member
  • Cheryl McInerney, Dean of Nursing
  • Renae Runnels, Director of Taunton Admissions
  • Jeremy Shepard, Dean of Students

To learn more about Dr. Combs, please feel free to review it via this link: